2

Star Trekkin' - The Next Generation

Trigger warning: I sing and play ukulele
2

Yesterday I received an email from Substack letting me know they were beta testing a new video feature, and If I wanted to try this new video feature I should fill out a form.

So I filled out the form.

And got an email response telling me they’d enabled my account for video access.

So obviously I needed to create a video. What would it be? Me telling some kind of story, or reviewing a product, or talking about a Trek book?

I asked my daughter if she’d taken any videos at STLV that I could share. And she suggested that I should just write a song.

LIGHT BULB WENT OFF.

And so, I had an idea and wrote some lyrics and recorded myself in one take so it is far from perfect but I sure would appreciate it if you gave it a listen.

Leave a comment

Star Trekking is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

I probably should have done a second take, at a slower tempo. And in landscape more. But oh well.

And here are the lyrics if you want to sing along. Or if I am unintelligible.

What is the measure of a man
A matter of time
A chain of command

Will you remember me
When the bough breaks
To the Nth degree

I’m Star Trekkin
Where no has gone before
Like some unnatural selection
Between angel one and datalore

What are the parallels
Who watches the watchers
Of my pen pals

This is the big goodbye
A matter of perspective
In my mind’s eye

I’m Star Trekkin
Til our journey’s end
And the face of the enemy
Is my imaginary friend

Yes I’m Star Trekkin
And it’s not a power play
And it isn’t hero worship
It’s only shades of gray

Share

Until next time, remember -

The human adventure is just beginning.

Neil

2 Comments
Star Trekking
Star Trekking
Authors
Neil Shurley